calculator and coins

Commonwealth Shared Scholarship

Robert Gordon University is delighted to offer two Commonwealth Shared Scholarships, in partnership with the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission in the UK. These scholarships are co-funded by the UK Government's Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office (FCDO) and Robert Gordon University.

Awarding Body
Commonwealth Scholarship Commission in the UK
Robert Gordon University
Tuition Fees Paid
Thursday 14 December 2023 at 16:00 GMT
Quantity of Awards


The Commonwealth Scholarship Commission in the UK (CSC) provides the UK government scholarship scheme led by international development objectives. It operates within the framework of the Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan (CSFP) and offers a vivid demonstration of the UK’s enduring commitment to the Commonwealth. By attracting individuals with outstanding talent and identifiable potential from all backgrounds and supporting them to become leaders and innovators on returning to their home countries, the CSC’s work combines sustainable development with the UK national interest and provides opportunities for international partnerships and collaboration.


Two applicants will receive funding for 100% of their tuition fees, plus return airfare to the UK from your country of residence, a maintenance award and additional allowances.


Eligible Countries of Residence

  • Bangladesh
  • Botswana
  • Cameroon
  • Ghana
  • India
  • Kenya
  • Malaysia
  • Namibia
  • Nigeria
  • Pakistan
  • Rwanda
  • Sierra Leone
  • South Africa
  • Sri Lanka
  • Tanzania
  • Uganda

Other eligible countries include: 

  • Belize
  • Dominica
  • Eswatini
  • Fiji
  • Gabon
  • Grenada
  • Guyana
  • Jamaica
  • Kiribati
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Maldives
  • Mauritius
  • Montserrat
  • Mozambique
  • Nauru
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Rwanda
  • Saint Helena
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and The Grenadines
  • Samoa
  • Sierra Leone
  • Solomon Islands
  • The Gambia
  • Togo
  • Tonga
  • Tuvalu
  • Vanuatu
  • Zambia

If your country is not listed, please get in touch with our International Enquiry team for details of other scholarships you may be eligible for:

Eligible Courses

Course Level

  • Postgraduate

Mode of Attendance

  • On Campus

Mode of Study

  • Full Time

Subject Area

  • Architecture, Construction & Surveying
  • Business & Management
  • Computing
  • Energy
  • Engineering

The Scott Sutherland School of Architecture & Built Environment

School of Computing

Aberdeen Business School

Other Requirements

To be considered for these scholarships, applicants must:

  • Be a citizen of or have been granted refugee status by an eligible Commonwealth country.
  • Be permanently resident in an eligible Commonwealth country.
  • Be available to start academic studies in the UK by the start of the UK academic year in September 2024.
  • By September 2024, hold a first degree of at least upper second-class (2:1) honours standard, or a lower second-class degree and a relevant postgraduate qualification (usually a Master’s degree).
  • Not have studied or worked for more than one (academic) year or more in a high-income country
  • Be unable to afford to study in the UK without this scholarship.
  • Have provided all supporting documentation in the required format.

The CSC aims to identify talented individuals who have the potential to make change. We are committed to a policy of equal opportunity and non-discrimination and encourage applications from a diverse range of applicants. For further information on the support available to scholars who share that they have a disability:

There is no age limit for CSC applications. Applicants are advised to confirm with their employers any age restrictions on leave entitlement they may have in place.

How to Apply

Applications for Commonwealth Shared Scholarships for the 2024/25 academic year are now open.

The deadline for submitting an application is 16:00 GMT on Thursday 14 December 2023. The scholarships are for study in the UK beginning in September/October 2024.


Applicants are required to first apply to study one of the selected courses directly to RGU

Once you have a confirmed offer to study at RGU, you should apply to the CSC directly:

The CSC is unable to accept any applications or documentation not submitted via the online application system.

We would strongly recommend that you apply for your chosen course (of those listed) as soon as possible, to ensure eligible students are made offers.You can apply for the scholarship through the Commonwealth Scholarships website. Please read and complete the Shared Scholarships eligibility checklist before submitting your application.

Your Application

Applications will be considered according to selection criteria:

  • Academic merit
  • Quality of research proposal
  • Potential impact on the development of the candidate’s come country

Applicants should note the criteria carefully and link their answers in the application form to each point listed.

Further information

Applicants can read further general information about applying for a Commonwealth Scholarship:

Cookie Consent