Let paddle commence: Crews unveiled for 2024 Aberdeen Boat Race

Wednesday 07 February 2024

Jakub and Jill posing for the 2024 boat race
The University of Aberdeen and Robert Gordon University have announced the crews that will battle it out on the water at this year’s iconic Aberdeen Boat Race.

This year sees the 29th annual race take place between the two institutions, with student rowers going head-to-head on a 3.5km stretch of the River Dee on Saturday 24 February at 2pm.

Known as the North East’s answer to the prestigious Oxford-Cambridge Boat Race, it has been running since 1996 and is currently the longest running boat race in Scotland.

This year, the cox for the University of Aberdeen will be Jakub Zbikowski, and Jill Adam will lead the Robert Gordon University crew. They will race under the theme ‘row it like you own it’.

Supporters from both universities and the local community are urged to ‘pick your colour’ and wear blue and yellow to show support for the University of Aberdeen, or purple and black for RGU.

The University of Aberdeen won the 2023 Aberdeen Boat race with a time of 8min 48 sec, crossing the line with a three and a quarter length margin ahead of their rivals. This leaves the current overall standings at 20-8 against RGU.

RGU sealed their first win in 2006 and since then the race’s results have fared more evenly, standing at 10-8 towards the University of Aberdeen.

Each of the 18 rowers will take just under 5,500 strokes in the course of the 3.5km race and along with the crew coxes, will test their physical and mental endurance to the limit.

Professor Steve Olivier, Principal and Vice Chancellor of Robert Gordon University, said: "The Aberdeen Boat Race is an exciting and significant event in the calendar each year and plays a great part in showing off the city and both universities.

"Each crew combines their studies with many hours of training, helping to create a spectacle for Aberdeen to be proud of. I'm looking forward to marking this commitment with many of the RGU community on February 24 and would urge supporters to come out to cheer them on."

Professor George Boyne, Principal and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Aberdeen, said: “The Boat Race is a staple in Aberdeen’s sporting calendar and offers both university crews the opportunity to showcase their talent, determination and team effort on the water.

“I’d encourage everyone from the local community, as well as staff, students and alumni to come along and show their support. I wish both teams the best of luck.”

Robert Gordon University

Jill Adam (Cox); Sam Edwards; Harris Pearce; Laura Stewart; Gwen O’Rourke; Helen Tintpulver; Sandy Griffin; Pamela Stevenson; Louis Allman.

University of Aberdeen

Jakub Zbikowski (Cox); Harris McDonald; Chris Bardas; Maisie Aspinall; Findlay McDougall; Campbell Wheeler; Emma Steele; Alex Cassell; Eleanor Black.

Cookie Consent