Robert Gordon University is focussed on developing highly relevant leading-edge research that advances knowledge and provides tangible benefits to the wider economy and society.

Members of the media are invited to search our listing to source expert comment on a variety of subjects. Each of the academics has a vast knowledge in their chosen area.

If you require an expert in a field that is not included in the directory please contact our communications team who will do their best to source the appropriate person 

T: 01224 262210 or

newsdesk@rgu.ac.uk

Choose a topic to download our expert's details

Cardiovascular disease - Cherry Wainwright (PDF 80KB)

Forensics

Pharmacy - Donald Cairns (PDF 80KB)

Sport science

Or search our complete list of experts.

Find an Expert

Find an Expert

Information on all our media experts.

Adobe - get Adobe Reader

Research expertise

Find out more about our research staff and their specific expertise in Laboratory, biomedical & sports sciences.

Medicines & Drugs

Professor Donald Cairns

School of Pharmacy & Life Sciences

Areas of Expertise:

  • Rational design of drugs
  • Actions and uses of drugs and medicines
  • Interesting poisons
  • Commission on human medicines

T: 01224 262501

E: d.cairns@rgu.ac.uk

 

Dr Denise Hansford

School of Pharmacy & Life Sciences

Areas of Expertise:

  • Medicines management
  • Reclassified medicines
  • Pharmaceutical formulation especially paediatric medicines

T: 01224 262509

E: d.hansford@rgu.ac.uk

Education & Learning

Dr Lesley Diack

School of Pharmacy & Life Sciences

Area of Expertise:

  • E-learning
  • Educational innovation
  • Interprofessional education

T: 01224 262511

E: h.l.diack@rgu.ac.uk

Water Quality & Purification

Professor Linda Lawton

School of Pharmacy & Life Sciences

Areas of Expertise:

  • Water quality
  • Algal blooms
  • Blue-green algae & the poisons they produce
  • Water purification
  • Analysis of water pollutants
  • Detention of trace organics
  • Taint compounds in water & aquaculture

T: 01224 262823

E: l.lawton@rgu.ac.uk

Cell Culture

Dr Lesley C McIntosh

School of Pharmacy & Life Sciences

Areas of Expertise:

  • Angiogenesis (in vitro models, diabetes, cancer)
  • Immunology (macrophages & cell-mediated immunity)
  • Cell migration
  • Cell culture

T: 01224 262833

E: l.c.mcintosh@rgu.ac.uk

Forensic Science

Professor (Andrew) Dave Barclay

School of Pharmacy & Life Sciences

Areas of Expertise:

  • Forensic science & investigative practice
  • Cold case review protocols
  • Public understanding of science
  • Criminal defence work

T: 01224 262800

E: a.d.barclay@rgu.ac.uk

 
Dr Andrew Morrisson

School of Pharmacy & Life Sciences

Areas of Expertise:

  • Analytical chemistry
  • Forensic analysis
  • Forensic soil evidence
  • Forensic science education & training

T: 01224 262815

E: a.morrisson@rgu.ac.uk

Nutrition

Professor Brian Ratcliffe

School of Pharmacy & Life Sciences

Areas of Expertise:

  • General nutrition
  • Diet & health
  • Fruit & vegetables
  • Cancer prevention

T: 01224 262812

E: b.ratcliffe@rgu.ac.uk

 

Dr Alan Wise

School of Pharmacy & Life Sciences

Area of Expertise:

  • Nutritional computer programming

T: 01224 262856

E: alan.wise@rgu.ac.uk

W: www.windiets.co.uk

Medical Microbiology

Dr Jeanette Robertson

School of Pharmacy & Life Sciences

Areas of Expertise:

  • Medical microbiology
  • Microbiological treatment of potable water

T: 01224 262853

E: j.robertson@rgu.ac.uk

Analytical Techniques

Raymond Reid

School of Pharmacy & Life Sciences

Areas of Expertise:

  • Analytical techniques
  • Natural products
  • Chemical profiling/fingerprinting of herbal products
  • High Pressure Liquid Chromatography (HPLC)
  • Gas Liquid Chromatography (GLC)
  • Capillary Electrophoresis (CE)
  • Chromatography-mass spectrometry
  • Quality of medicines

T: 01224 262518

E: r.reid@rgu.ac.uk

DNA

Dr Theresa Wilson

School of Pharmacy & Life Sciences

Areas of Expertise:

  • DNA profiling
  • Identity testing
  • Relationship testing
  • DNA recovery
  • DNA analysis

T: 01224 262884

E: t.wilson@rgu.ac.uk

Non-medical prescribing

Dr Derek Stewart

School of Pharmacy & Life Sciences

Areas of Expertise:

  • Non-medical prescribing
  • Pharmacovigilance
  • Reclassified medicines & self care
  • Public health

T: 01224 262432

E: d.stewart@rgu.ac.uk